TowerWatch Ministries • View topic - Hello. I am not sure how to do this.

Former Jehovah’s Witnesses and others creating a warm Christian atmosphere

All times are UTC - 4 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hello. I am not sure how to do this.
PostPosted: Mon 12 Mar, 2007 6:41 pm 

Hi, I am uncertain as to how to begin a dialog here. I am a Sunday School teacher for a ladies class in a small Baptist church. I am not and have not ever been a Jehovah's Witness. Probably no great surprise to you, I have not ever had a friendship with a Jehovah's Witness. Our class of ladies of mixed ages and backgrounds were interested in learning more about the Jehovah's Witness in order that we may better speak to these precious folks that greet us in the Wal-Mart parking lot and come to our doors. I do not wish to compromise anyone that we encounter and make them unnecessarily suspect to their peer's and partners.
I have read some info on-line- this site has been very informative!- and in The Kingdom of the Cults; but I would like to hear from some former members. My questions are probably naive; but I do want to have some real life input prior to the historical/beliefs that I can research.
That said, may I pitch a few questions out to start any dialog?

How did you come to be exposed/involved in the Jehovah's Witnesses?
What brought you to a commitment to this community?
Is my using the "JW" abbreviation offensive to you?
What would you want to say to folks that are completely clueless about the Jehovah's Witnesses?

Thanks for your consideration. Is there a question(s) I should ask; but haven't? Feel free to share your insights and wisdom with me, I appreciate all input.

Thanks so very much,
Just Curious

Post subject: Re: Hello. I am not sure how to do this.
PostPosted: Tue 13 Mar, 2007 9:34 am 
Master Member
Master Member